Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Gregg wins round 1 of Sprint Car Civil War
Marysville CA - March 15, 2014... In what was a star-studded opening event for the Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster Saturday night in Marysville, CA, one star shined the brightest, as El Dorado Hill's driver Andy Gregg won the 30-lap feature event at Marysville Raceway Park.

Gregg Started on the pole alongside Penngrove, CA driver Alissa Geving, and got the early jump aboard his Mike’s Hard Lemonade sprinter. With Geving hot on his tail for a majority of the race aboard her A1A Performance entry, she was able to pull alongside Gregg once in traffic, but was unable to make a pass to take the top spot and trailed in the second spot.

With 10-laps complete the complexity of the race took a dramatic change, as a massive 5-car wreck involving several of the top-five occurred on a restart as Jonathan Allard, Tommy Tarlton, Willie Croft, Peter Paulsonand Matt Peterson were involved, all drivers were okay, but Allard's car flipped several times in the melee.

When action resumed Gregg continued to lead the charge as he blasted through the cushion at the rocket fast MRP facility, but behind him, Sebastapool’s Geoff Ensign was moving in on Geving as was Sean Becker, and 22nd starting, Herman Klein.

As the laps ran out, Geving, who caught a rut and spun out, putting her to the back in the 14th spot.

With Sean Becker starting alongside Gregg, Gregg continued to be flawless on his restarts, as he led the way with Becker, Ensign, Klein, and Andy Forsberg trailing him. As cars began to tighten up as the track brought moisture back during the feature, a monster wheel-stand down the back stretch by Becker, allowed Ensign to take over the second spot.

The checkered flag flew on the feature with Andy Gregg taking the win over Ensign, Becker, Klein (who came from 22nd starting position), Andy Forsberg, Colby Wiesz(who came from, from 21st) , Bradley Terrell, Shane Golobic, Geving, and Justyn Cox rounding out the top 10.

“I just cannot thank my crew enough,” Gregg said in victory lane. “We have had a great start to the season so far, and to come out and win this opener in front of a packed house, and with a stout field of cars is pretty awesome.

Marysville Raceway Park graduates Klein and Wiesz (3 time champ) came from the last row to 4th and 6th places respectively in the night's best passing jobs. Mechanical issues plagued MRP champions Billy Wallace and Jeremy Burt during the main event. Burt, however soldiered his way back to 11th after a pit stop. Wallace retired from the event early.

In preliminary action, Lodi's Shawn Wright flipped high and hard in turn two. While the car appeared to be a write-off, Wright was a little shaken, but required no medical attention.

Marysville Raceway Park will begin the season long championship schedule again featuring the winged 360 sprint Cars on Saturday night April 5th.

RESULTS- Marysville Raceway Park


Fast Qualifier- Jonathan Allard

Feature Event (Starting Position)

1. Andy Gregg (1), 2. Geoff Ensign (12), 3. Sean Becker (5), 4. Herman Klein (22), 5. Andy Forsberg (11), 6. Colby Wiesz (21), 7. Bradley Terrell (16), 8. Shane Golobic (4), 9. Alissa Geving (2), 10. Justyn Cox (18)

Portions of press release, data and results provided by California Sprint Car Civil War Series.