Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Sprints slug it out Saturday
Winged Sprint champ to be crowned.
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - September 10, 2013 ---The mighty Winged Pacific Sprint Cars will headline the show this Saturday night at Paul and Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park. The MRP Wingless Sprint Cars, the MRP Hobby Stocks, Nor Cal Dwarf Cars and BCRA Midget Lites will also return to the raceway in championship point racing competition.

The riveting, three-way, year long fight at the top of the MRP Winged Pacific Sprint Car Series is the featured attraction Saturday. The MRP Wingless Sprint Car Crown is also still a toss-up and the competitors in that series will be digging up some clay as well. The Hobby Stock war between local drivers Eddie Hammett and defending MRP champ Jeremy Hammons also renews Saturday. But, unlike the other two MRP divisions running Saturday, all Hammons has to do is start the feature to clinch the crown.

In the MRP Winged Sprint Car class, championship point leader Billy Wallace of Grass Valley in Mark Moore’s bad-fast black hot rod remains at the top of the standings. Grass Valley’s Jeremy Burt is still 2nd in his GEICO/Slater Antiques Sprinter. Burt is now just 13 points off the pace. Burt has mounted a big comeback challenge over the last two weeks as he whittles away at Wallace. But, Saturday the whittling stops and both drivers need to take off the gloves. There is a potential 50 point swing available at each event. But, Burt, last Saturday did what he had to do to stay in the hunt by wrestling an evil handling racer. Wallace turned his car into a ball in a wild flip in turn 3. Mike Monahan in his Superior Hydraulics Sprinter out of Sparks, Nevada is still in there swinging. Monahan picked up a cool 45 points with his 2nd place finish last time out and now he is only 24 points out. But Monahan simply needs to win and hope that some bad luck strike Burt and Wallace.

This is going to be a battle royal in the final championship point race of the season. As dirt track racing’s gladiators strap on their winged, 800 horsepower cars…anything is possible. Wallace is looking for his 3rd consecutive title and remains 5th in the all time win column in the winged sprint cars. He has 27 main event wins. Monahan is a 4 time Montana State Champion and the 2004 MRP title holder. Burt was also the MRP champ in 2007.

Marysville’s Cousins Derek and Brandon Dozier of Marysville’s will have another opportunity for victory in a pair of Performance Auto Supply hot rods. Oroville’s Heath Hall will return in the Hight Motorsports entry looking to break through for his 1st win of the 2013 campaign. Veteran Jimmy Steward of Auburn will be in the field along with veteran hot-shoe Peter Paulson from Woodland. Paulson has won this season and grabbed a fast time C-note. Paulson had a memorable qualifying lap last time out when he turned his yellow #9 over. 3 time champion Colby Wiesz; “The Colfax Comet” won last time out, is expected to be in the field again Saturday. His 53 feature event victories at MRP remains the all-time record in the sprinters.

Once again, two remarkable lady winged sprint car stars are expected. 1st year sensation Raquel Hall will be looking for her 1st trip to victory lane. Orland’s Reyna Krueger is a 4 time winner in the winged sprint cars.

In addition to the $1000 in cash for the feature event winner, the Legal Shield Quick Time Shootout will pay $100 for fast time at this event. The Contingency Connection Bonus program will offer some $1100 in additional bonus opportunities to the winner.

The wild slides of the MRP Wingless Sprint Cars will also be on the card as Marysville’s Jeremy Hawes recover from some dismal luck at the last show. With two races left in the season, Anderson’s Rowdy McClenon will try to keep Hawes in check. 2009 champion Cort Dozier has been a fierce contender since taking the controls in the #97 wingless sprinter a few weeks ago.

The Rookie of the Year point standings in the MRP Wingless Sprint Car division is very close. Misty Castleberry and Wheatland’s Johnny Burns have traded the lead back and forth...and back and forth, four times in four races. Castleberry got back by Burns last time out and has a 2 point lead.

With 2 races to go it’s a tight knot at the top of this class no matter where you look.

Look for some more paint to be traded as the MRP Hobby Stocks return with their final slam-bang show of the year. Local driver Jeremy Hammons can cement a 2nd consecutive title if he starts the main event. If he doesn’t and Eddie Hammett wins, Hammett can claim the crown.

The traveling Nor Cal Dwarf Cars are also making a stop at MRP Saturday. The dwarf cars will make their last stop at MRP in advance of their annual Nationals held at MRP in late September. The traveling BCRA Midget Lites will make their final 2013 stop at MRP Saturday as well.

The pit gate opens at 3PM. Grandstands open at 5PM.

The text is based on information we have at the time of its release.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect.

Go to Marysville Raceway Park’s facebook for all the latest updates or our website at