Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Hunt Shootout comes to town
Late Models, Minis and Pro 4s also on tap Saturday

By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - July 5, 2012 --- This Saturday marks the return of the Hunt Wingless Sprint Car Shootout to Paul and Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park. Take a look at this stream of stars expected for this 5th gathering in the phenomenally competitive series. Well, there’s super star Terry Schank with more than 120 wins to his credit in wingless sprint car racing. Then, after that it’s a “pick-‘em” with MRP Champs Brett Youngman and Billy Wallace, (Wallace will shed the wing and slip into the family #6 for this one) in the field. Feature event winners David Sprigg, Scott Hall, Brian Southers, Rowdy McClenon and Tony Richards will also be in the field. Add notables like lady racing star Janna Spear, Joe Stornetta and Alex Schute and others and you have a star studded field. Then you have to ad the ringer. In this series the ringer has to be 2 time Sherm Toller Memorial Race winner Jeremy Hawes. Hawes is absolutely breathtaking at his home track in a wingless car. The term “scary fast” comes to this observer’s mind when Hawes saddles up in a wingless car. Guys like Hawes, Schank and Wallace are why a lot of us go to see wingless sprint car racing. Yep, tipping on the edge at 100 MPH. Don’t miss it.

If you haven’t treated yourself to a wingless sprint car race lately, Saturday night will be your chance to take in a good one. The Hunt Series qualifies cars 5 at a time in an unusual, fan friendly format and will offer a complete show with a 25 lap feature. Can’t wait for this one; it’s time to get busy.

Also on the program are the popular Limited Late Models. For the 1st time in many seasons MRP will host the traveling fenders several times in 2012. Ryan McDaniel has won at each MRP outing this year as the series starts to get legs in its opening rounds at MRP. Local favorite “Mr. Controversy”, Jerry Bartlett looks to unseat McDaniel’s domination. It’s worth the price of admission watching the stars of this series sling these wild hot rods into the corners.

Misty Castleberry will try to fight her way back to victory lane in the MRP Mini Stock feature event. Tough, fast competition awaits the champ though as Howard Law, Shaun Merritt, Jason Clayton, James Foster, Damian Merritt, Austin Merritt and Miranda Hammons look for a way into victory lane.

It would be a mistake to overlook the quickest rookie to grace the MRP Mini Stock field in some time. While Hammons and Austin Merritt have been good as rookies, Travis Carter has shown signs of brilliance. This youngster is 2nd in points behind established star Castleberry (and doesn’t mind racing side by side with the champ), but Carter is looking for a break through night and a well deserved trip to victory lane.

One other note: James Foster was nosed out by Clayton at the line last time out. This observer thinks that Foster thinks this place owes him one. If this motivated young man enters Saturday he will be one to watch. Law, Clayton and Foster have spiced up the show lately and Castleberry hasn’t been to victory lane since the trio showed up. Do we count her out?..not hardly!

The Pro 4 Sprint Cars will return Saturday with 4-time champion Tim Maclaughlin leading the way. MRP Mini Stock champ Misty Castleberry will saddle up again and try to win another Pro 4 feature in her #95, and try for her 3rd double. 

Pit gate for racers opens at 3PM. Grandstands open at 5PM. Qualifying at 6:30. Racing after qualifying.

Don’t forget to monitor our facebook page during the week; we’d love to hear from you. Updates are constantly being forwarded to the page on race night. Every Thursday night at 8PM MRP gives away 2 free tickets to the following week’s events. So, pop on to facebook ( and grab a couple of freebees on Thursday.

IMPORTANT: 2012 minor releases must be signed by parents for all minors entering the pits. 

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release