Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

MRP’s racing stars shine bright. 
Drivers, owners and families fill Thunder Valley Casino Resort.
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - November 10, 2010 ---5 division championships were honored Saturday night at the Thunder Valley Casino Resort during MRP’s annual awards banquet and celebration. 4 division rookies and a most improved driver were also acknowledged in a dazzling ceremony that also featured the top 10 drivers in MRP’s 4 primary classes. The top 5 in the Pro 4 Sprint Series also received their awards during the evening.

The event was a resounding success with hundreds of MRP’s total racing family in attendance. It was also apparent that, after so difficult a year, that MRP would be back next year, bigger and better, with a renewed emphasis on the primary classes. With 45 drivers being honored, only a few were unable to attend.

Promoter Paul Hawes started the evening with his annual “State of the Raceway” address. Hawes indicated that things would stay pretty much status quo with respect to rules. This included an added emphasis on the Super Stock Class rules remaining the same in every respect including suspensions. The Mini Stocks will remain the same as will the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series. The successes this year in all divisions were a pretty good window as to how 2011 will be approached. Promoter Hawes quashed rumors that engine rule modifications and the elimination of self-starters were being considered in the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series. It will not happen. MRP will still consider looking at ASCS involvement for the winged sprinters, but Hawes was cautious as to how or if he would commit to that organization. Hawes stressed that any movements in any direction regarding any of the primary classes would only be considered if it benefited MRP and it’s loyal weekly participants.

Promoter Hawes said that a new MRP Hobby Stock class would be offered in 2011 giving yet another valuable opportunity to racers on a budget. A wise move in these troubled economic times. Rules will be posted to the website soon.

Korey Lovell picked up his unprecedented 5th MRP Winged Sprint Car championship while Misty Castleberry took the honors in the MRP Mini Stock class. Castleberry’s championship was further enhanced by a 10-race win streak that smashed a 14-year-old record at the raceway. Castleberry was also Rookie of the Year in the Pro 4 Sprint Car Series with a final night victory in that division.

Terry Schank grabbed top honors in the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series and was heralded with a poem from fellow combatants Taylor Simas and Brian Southers. Yep, a poem! 

Corey Hall was crowned champion of the mighty MRP Super Stocks and P J Petersen was the Pro 4 Sprint Car champ.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Tyler Peterson in the MRP Mini Stock class and Cody Lamar in the MRP Winged Sprint Car class. Raul Casteneda got the nod in the MRP Super Stocks.

A special award was forwarded to Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series standout Brett Youngman. Youngman was MRP’s most improved driver for 2010.

MRP’s own Mike Dehoogh presented his annual visual assault featuring the stars and cars of MRP. 

It is this observer’s opinion that, considering where MRP could be today, we are headed toward our best year ever in 2011. Promoter Hawes and his track staff continue to improve the facility for fans and participants alike. Work will continue on in between the raindrops all winter long.

The next event on MRP’s calendar is the annual racer’s Swap Meet on Saturday, November 27th , 8 am until noon. Spaces are $35. Promoter Hawes told this observer that, weather permitting, he may have the track available and one of the new Hobby Stocks may take a lap or two. We’ll see…and we’ll see you there on the 27th.

Here’s a tip of the straw hat to all of you who made it happen in 2010, it’s been a privilege to be a part of it all.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release.