Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

9-time Hawaiian champ Freitas joins growing field Saturday.
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - October 4, 2010 --- It was learned today that 9-time Hawaiian winged sprint car champ Dean Freitas will join the growing number of sprint car champions entered at MRP Saturday night. Freitas, who has 2 victories at MRP during other trips to the mainland, was at the open practice Monday night.

This event is becoming yet another “Race of Champions” as more and more drivers including Freitas make their intentions known. The field will also feature 3 time MRP Champion Colby Wiesz who has 45 victories at MRP. Spectacular sprint car champion Andy Forsberg (who will be looking for 2 in a row at MRP) has told this observer he will be in the field.

This race at MRP is getting a lot of attention from some of the finest sprint car drivers in California, Nevada and now Hawaii. Champion drivers Brent Dothage (3 MRP titles) and 2004 champion Mike Monahan will add depth to an already great winged sprint car field. Jeremy Burt, the 2007 champ is also expected to join the field.

This Saturday’s event will have all of the primary divisions on the card. The MRP Winged Sprinters, the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series, the MRP Mini Stocks, Super Stocks and Pro 4 Sprints will all be presented.

Pit gate opens at 3PM. The spectator gates will open at 5 PM with Hot Laps at 6 PM. IMPORTANT: The first race will start after hot laps at about 6:30. 

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release.