Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

“Rich Dozier 100” Sat. MRP honors Pops Dozier and Performance Auto Supply. 
Castleberry tries for #8 as Wiesz challenges winged chauffeurs. 
Wild EXTREME BOMBERS also on tap.

By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - July 5, 2010 --- Paul and Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park will honor MRP legend Richard “Pops” Dozier and his business, Performance Auto Supply. Saturday’s “Rich Dozier 100” will feature an outrageous 6-division program. It will present 4 open wheel classes and the impressive MRP mighty Mini Stocks. Area racers get another shot at the ring in a return bout featuring MRP’s own Extreme Bombers. MRP Winged Sprint Cars and the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series and the Pro 4 Sprint Cars will headline the open wheel offerings. A return visit by the BCRA Midget Lites is also offered. 100 laps of feature event racing will be staged in advance of the EXTREME BOMBER extreme finale. 

The feature event winner last time out in winged sprint car competition, Colby Wiesz will be back at MRP Saturday to challenge the MRP regulars after a trip to Oregon over the 4th of July. MRP was dark. The 3-time MRP champ told this observer that he would contest this Saturday night’s program in advance of the King of California Series scheduled for July 24th. With an amazing 43 feature event victories in winged car competition here, Wiesz has a firm grip on that record. Wiesz and other MRP sprint car regulars will bring their racers to challenge California’s best 410 sprint cars on the 24th. This Saturday night point leader Korey Lovell will look to extend his lead over Gary Paulson in the winged feature Saturday. Paulson’s 2 race streak of bad luck has given Lovell an overwhelming point lead heading into the warm summer months here.

In the MRP Mighty Mini Stock class MRP’s own “Blonde Bombshell”, Misty Castleberry continues to inch her way toward an all time record for consecutive feature event victories in ANY class. 9 is the record, she’s 2 shy. But, the amazing thing about it is that the class is without question one of the strongest and most competitive presented at MRP. As with all historic sports records, this one has all the railbirds watching intensely. A full field of MRP’s Mighty Mini’s will be pursuing the quick #95. Jimmy Ford, Jason Clayton, Mike Merritt, Alan Furuta and a host of other great stars will be trying to put an end to Castleberry’s streak.

The Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warriors have the closest point battle going on at MRP as Taylor Simas and Terry Schank continue to wrestle for the lead. Schank is on a blistering mid season run and has been chewing away at Simas’ point lead. After the last event, Schank shaved another 3 points off of Simas lead and the pair are separated by only 2 markers going into this week’s show.

The Pro 4 Sprint Cars will bring along racing stars from other MRP series into their ranks once again. Castleberry, Joel Giusti, Brent Hall and former street stock driver Mike Smith will be in the line up. Also expected to return is the “Flyin’ Ford” of Jeremy Hawes. Champion Tim Maclaughlin will sit this one out, so a new face in victory lane is a distinct possibility. This entry level open wheel class at MRP will continue to be enthusiastically supported by promoter Hawes.

The night will be capped, once again, by the authorized, motorized mayhem of the MRP EXTREME BOMBERS. They bring ‘em…they crash ‘em…they burn ‘em…and it’s an absolute gas!!! They will run Saturday night at the conclusion of the evening as there is so much damage and debris caused by the crashing and fires that it ruins the surface for any other racing that night.

As an extra-added attraction the fierce BCRA Midget Lites will be at MRP as well.

Join us for spectacular, heart stopping action this Saturday night at MRP. The pit gate opens at 3PM. The spectator gates will open at 5 PM with Hot Laps at 6 PM. IMPORTANT: The first race will start immediately after hot laps. 

As alluded to earlier, The MRP Winged Sprinters will make their return after a 2 week hiatus. Point leader Korey Lovell seems headed for an unprecedented 5th title if things keep going the way they have so far. Gary Paulson is keeping it interesting, but had a major disappointment during the Hall race. Paulson was ahead of Lovell and making up some ground in the points hunt when it all came unglued in turn 4. The young charger is long overdue for his 1st feature event win, and at this point in the season, the only one with a shot at Lovell. 

In the MRP Mini Stocks, all the competitor’s eyes are on one big red, white and blue target. It’s Misty Castleberry. This blonde bombshell continues to carve her own niche into the MRP history books. She can do it again Saturday night. According to the records obtained since 1990 by this observer only Jerry Bartlett has more consecutive wins in the modern era. Bartlett won 9 in a row in 1996, the first year of pure stocks at MRP. Well, the “Pure Stocks” have evolved into wildly fast, winged wonders over the years. Castleberry may well have her eye on that prize after she trounced the record for consecutive wins in the Mini Stock class last week. 

The Pro 4 sprinters will be back in action with MRP Mini Stock grads Castleberry, Brent Hall and Joel Giusti challenging veteran stars like Tim Maclaughlin.

The night will be capped by the authorized, motorized mayhem of the EXTREME BOMBERS. They bring ‘em…they crash ‘em…and it’s an absolute gas!!! We run them at the conclusion of the evening for 2 reasons. #1… there is so much damage and debris caused by crashing and fires that it ruins the surface for any other racing that night…and, #2 the participants are not released from wherever they are kept until after 8PM.

Join us for spectacular, heart stopping action this Saturday night at MRP.

The pit gate opens at 3PM. The spectator gates will open at 5 PM with Hot Laps at 6 PM. IMPORTANT: The first race will start after hot laps at about 6:30. 

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release.