Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

5 pick up trophies at exciting Kid’s Night show
By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - June 20, 2010 --- Since 1994 Marysville Raceway Park has hosted a Kid’s Night. A loud, good natured crowd witnessed an excellent 5 division show that featured records, emotion and some downright hard core racing. In the Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car Series ace driver Terry Schank picked up the hardware and is now within 5 points of the series lead. Misty Castleberry continued her unbelievable streak of victories in the MRP Mini Stock class. Ray Trimble returned, and with a little luck, won another MRP Super Stock feature. Tim Maclaughlin grabbed the Pro 4 Sprint Car trophy. In the BCRA Midget Lite feature, veteran Cameron Beard won an emotional 1st feature victory after nearly being killed in a vicious crash a couple of years ago.

After the spectacular dual heat race preliminaries were concluded Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warrior Sprint Car driver Jeremy Hawes was 2 for 2 and had an outside front row start in the feature. Schank also picked up a pair of heat race wins, but started in row 2. The green flag provided a flurry of action as the field roared into turn 1. Hawes went high and when the field bolted onto the back chute, Schank popped out of the pack, rocketed past the front row down low and flew into the lead. Mel Hall Memorial winner Billy Wallace found 2nd right away and it was on from there. Hawes had a tough 1st lap and hammered the cushion in 3 dropping, straightening him up and dropping him through the field like a rock. What that did do, however, is set up a drive back to the front for Hawes that was the most entertaining part of the event. It was pretty obvious that Hawes was among the fastest cars in the house. He had some work to do.

Earlier in the evening Schank and car owner Roger Gleeson confirmed with this observer that they were going for the title “for sure” at MRP as of tonight. It looked like it. The red #1 was in another zone…again. Schank easily outdistanced Wallace to the checkers in what continues to be an ongoing rivalry between the 2 stars all over northern California.

That said, MRP point leader Taylor Simas got to 3rd right away and stayed there to the finish. Hawes started his charge and did some fan friendly and scary side by side racing that paid off with an eventual 5th place finish at the end. In a race that was slowed only once by the caution flag, Hawes threw his quick #7 around with reckless abandon as the crowd began to pick up on his efforts to try to get back in the hunt.

4th finishing Brian Southers kept the pressure on Simas as that rivalry begins to carry more weight. But Schank took the checkers by a ½ lap and quipped in victory lane, that, “This place is fun, you’ve got to watch yourself in 1 and 2, make a choice high or low and then you can flat foot it in the cushion in 3 and 4.” Schank was 10 points behind in the championship hunt at the beginning of the evening. He will be 5 points behind when the Joe Hunt Magneto Wingless Sprint Car Shootout rolls into town next weekend at MRP. That event also carries MRP championship points. Hawes won two of the dual heats and Schank won the other two.

The MRP Mini Stock feature provided another stirring battle at the front, but the result proved to be the same as a hard charging Jason Clayton and a resurgent Mike Merritt could not beat point leader Misty Castleberry to the line. The fans were up and screaming in this one as the struggle up front was a thriller. The trio, along with Jimmy Ford and Alan Furuta exchanged paint during a couple of frantic restarts. With 2 to go Castleberry stretched her lead to a couple of car lengths with a pair of picture perfect laps and swooped under the checkers for a record 6th feature event win in a row. With this victory she surpasses record holder Ben Nunez in consecutive feature event wins in point racing competition. Fireworks filled the air in the Castleberry pits after the event. Clayton stayed 2nd with Merritt, Ford and Erik Davey in the top 5.

The Pro 4 Sprint Car race was almost another Castleberry benefit as she screamed away from the field in the early laps. 3 time champ Tim Maclaughlin caught her and went on to yet another victory as Castleberry smoked her motor and retired in the late laps. Maclaughlin was, as usual, flawless in his run to the checkers. Point leader P. J. Petersen came in 2nd with a John Cardoni in 3rd after a great ride from the back. Cardoni had a tough time with turn 2 and charged hard in the best passing job of the event. Brent Hall was 4th.

Ray Trimble won an accident marred MRP Super Stock marathon that was really point leader Cory Hall’s to win. Hall jumped to an early big lead with Trimble in tow. What was described as a broken axle sent Hall to the pits and Trimble to victory lane as he took advantage of miscues by others. Once Trimble found the front he was gone. Jeff Olschowka carefully clawed his way into 2nd position. With Hall’s unfortunate demise, Olschowka will get the point lead heading into the next race. James Castleberry was impressive in a charge to the front for 3rd after an early race miscue sent him to the rear. Willie Horn was 4th.

A word here on a job well done by Kyle Cheney in his 1st ever stock car race. Cheney was quick, never made a mistake and brought home his new car 5th. Some seat time and a few more clean races could make Cheney a serious challenger in the class.

The BCRA Midget Lite feature was won by veteran Cameron Beard in a mistake free ride from the front row. To our knowledge it was Beard’s 1st victory since a horrible flip and crash sent the veteran campaigner onto life support and into a long, long recovery. Beard jumped out of the car and was clearly emotional in victory lane. It was great to see Beard’s success after such a terrifying journey back to victory lane. Point contender Jason Sneed hopped into an unfamiliar car after his mount expired in heat race competition. Sneed went from last to 2nd during the rapid fire 20 lapper.

Next week the MRP Winged Sprint Cars will share top billing with MRP’s round 3 of the Joe Hunt Magneto Wingless Sprint Car Shootout. The fabulous EXTREME BOMBERS will be back for some more authorized motorized mayhem. The MRP Mini Stocks will also be presented as Misty Castleberry will try to extend her win streak. The Pro 4 Sprint Cars will also be on the spectacular 5 division card.

The pit gate opens at 3PM. The spectator gates will open at 5 PM with Hot Laps at 6 PM. IMPORTANT: The first race will start after hot laps at about 6:30.

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release. Complete finishes, stats and points become official and available at the close of business on Tuesday and will be posted to the web site.