Marysville Raceway Park

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

$2500 to Win at Mel Hall Saturday.
Wingless Warriors also on program

By Bob Burbach
Marysville CA - June 1, 2010 --- Marysville Raceway Park’s biggest early season event will be presented by Paul and Kathy Hawes this Saturday night. The raceway’s annual tribute to one of the pioneers of sprint car racing in northern California will feature northern California’s top guns in winged 360-sprint car racing. The 2010 edition of the 30-lap Mel Hall Memorial Race will bring with it a $2500 winners purse along with contingency awards from the Contingency Connection.

The event celebrates the life of Mel Hall who, along with wife Marlyn firmly established sprint car racing as the primary class at MRP. The stars of the winged 360 sprint cars will battle for the prestige, bragging rights, and increased purses to find out who is the best of the best. "The Colfax Comet" Colby Wiesz has won the event 6 times in it’s storied history and will surely be the favorite headed into Saturday’s show. Wiesz is a 3-time champion at MRP and has won in 8 of his last 10 attempts here.

In a sharp contrast to Wiesz’s remarkable success in the event, one driver who has won often at MRP still has not taken the race named after promoter Hall. That is Mel’s son Mark. Grass Valley’s Mark Hall brought three Winged Sprint Car Championships with him when Mel took over at MRP in late 1994 (the now defunct Ernie Purssell Memorial Speedway in Grass Valley is where Mark picked up his 1st three titles). When Mark Hall came to MRP it was with a revolutionary V-6 engine that screamed on with a nerve-shattering, thrilling scream. It was a successful one though. Mark Hall picked up 2 more Sprint Car Titles at MRP before semi-retiring to take over promoting the track after Mel’s passing.

With MRP in the capable hands of current promoters Paul and Kathy Hawes, promoter Hawes has provided some wildly fast and hooked up tracks lately and there’s no reason to think it will be any different for this event. Some 250 loads of new clay have been added since the start of the season. A new sprinkler system on the crash walls have kept the high side moist and hooked up providing some of the best high side action we’ve ever seen here. Championship drivers who have not competed at MRP lately should be pleased with the changes.

There is a most interesting sidebar attached to this event. While Mark Hall continues to race, there is one trophy he’s been unable to grab. As much as he has won, he has never won the race named in honor of his father. Mark, who has won 26 main events here, has never been able to gather in the checkers in this one particular race. Like all great sporting events, this one will be riddled with brilliantly prepared equipment and boiling over with driving talent. There will be wickedly fast visitors all over the pit area Saturday night. So, Hall’s task will be a daunting one. It is one of the great sprint car races…period. Champions representing every 360-sprint car track in northern California will be headed to MRP for this annual celebration of spectacle and speed. Cars from Nevada and Oregon will also make the big tow to Yuba Sutter’s only weekly professional sports facility. This event also pays points in the 2010 MRP Winged Sprint Car driving championship. As an MRP point race, 4 time champion Korey Lovell and 2010’s new standout sprint car star Gary Paulson will renew their battle for the 2010 title. Brent Dothage is back in the saddle again and with his scary fast-hammer down style, should be a contender for the win.

20 cars will be seeded into the 30-lap feature event through MRP’s fan friendly dual heat race format. All contestants will have 2 opportunities to gather points toward an up front starting position in the 30-lap feature by competing in 10-lap heat races. Points are scored in each of the heat races and the accumulation of points determines the feature line-up. The top six in points will pull for starting positions in the finale. The top 16 cars will be seeded in this fashion while the final 4 starters will be seeded in the back of the feature based upon their finishing positions in the B main event.

A full field of alcohol guzzling winged sprint cars are ready to go to war this Saturday night. The MRP Performance Auto Supply Wingless Warriors have been added to the show for a look at some wild alcohol burning, pitch-it-sideways wingless sprint car action. Point leader Taylor Simas, Terry Schank, Brian Southers and a host of other Wingless Warriors will be on hand. 3 years ago, Southers picked up his 1st ever feature event victory when he won the wingless portion of the Mel Hall race.

The pit gate opens at 3PM. The spectator gates will open at 5 PM with Hot Laps at 6 PM. IMPORTANT: The first race will start after hot laps at about 6:30. 

Note: Please make this observer aware of any names that are misspelled or incorrect. The text is based on information we have at the time of its release